Using labels to describe people.

Any label is bad. The labels we call ourselves seem to do nothing but limit us. I am considering the idea of not using any labels to describe myself. The first thought that comes to mind is how maybe some labels, small harmless ones, that describe an aspect of me to the point, can still be allowed, but then I think, no, everyone of them should be questioned.

The problem is that they tell us and others limitations. Sure they describe some characteristic, but they tell what I or you “don’t” do. They are also incomplete descriptions since the words them selves are not always fully defined.

Think of the word vegan, if someone says that’s what they are then you get an idea in your head about their whole lifestyle, and not only might it be wrong, it most likely is wrong. A big example is the word alcoholic, I have had my issues with drinking myself, in AA you state you are an alcoholic. I have done it before and I know what my issues are, but saying it never felt natural. It is not that it’s a form of denial, its that the word does not properly describe my situation.

There is also the idea that no matter what you are called, it shouldn’t get to you to much. That is first and true, be so comfortable with yourself, be at a point where any label has minimal effect on you. That can be achieved. I guess if you label yourself, label yourself well, call yourself the best, call yourself the top of whatever it is you do, even if you are not. Those would be more along the lines of affirmations, I think that is something different.

So question the labels, all of them. Usually they point to one element of character or personality but we then add more to that one, that’s the problem. They are “blanket words” they cover many things and do not describe the true thing. Bye now.


Leave a comment