Being Present and Awkwardness

I have read much on awareness and being present in the moment, but I don’t think that I have really truly understood it. Or I may understand it but I don’t understand the importance of it. I have been thinking of it as like a nice tip that I can take it or leave it, do it or not. Well, it now seems that its crucial that I take it.

I am like a 100% introvert and thinker. My ability to be logical is great, maybe too good. I have also been wondering what the connection is with introversion and social awkwardness is. Like why are most quiet, socially anxious people also introverts?

It’s that damn thinking, that running mind, constantly organizing thoughts and ideas and trying to place them in their right place. I do know I need to meditate more, supposedly that will help exercise this part of my brain to do this better.

When meeting others I now see that something always happens, something is missing, or something is off. They don’t even know what’s going on, the just know that the person in front of them is not comfortable and they feel instinctively that they are not comfortable. Why is this? I have always been so much into content of conversations, not feelings, not moods, like do I like what they are talking about? Do they want to hear what I have been up to?

I now have learned that content is close to meaning nothing, it has its place but what’s more important is like the vibe that’s going on. We are animals it seems, we function on feelings and instincts a hell of a lot more than I ever gave credit for. People see your awkwardness and internally instinctively don’t get you.

So, I think it comes down to the presence. Being fully present in these moments. Stopping the mind, mostly from objectifying the situation and judging it. Listen to the person, be there in the moment, hear them and the sounds around you. Even doing the feeling of your breath if needed.

Is this it? Is this my missing piece? I will be practicing this more, then I will see I guess.

 


2 thoughts on “Being Present and Awkwardness

  1. Do something that forces you to meet new people on a constant basis. Like a job in sales, be a canvasser on weekends, join a couple groups in town, be a couchsurfer, etc. Comfort comes from familiarity. As an introvert social interaction is conscious (effort) by default; you need to get it to the point where it’s unconscious (effortless). That’s where comfort comes.

  2. Great suggestions. That would be a good next step to becoming more comfortable. I wanted to post on the idea of being more present however, since it is rarely mentioned.

Leave a comment